A Simple Running Log

March 5, 2013

Training for 3/5/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:47 pm

This morning was a frosty 23 degrees, but the wind had finally gone the hell away and we’re supposed to get a freaking snowstorm later this evening, so I figured today would be the only decent running day all week and I better enjoy it.

I had my final pace run on the schedule, just a 4-miler. I left the Garmin at home and wore the Timex.

This was the same run I did Saturday, and it was infinitely better without the Garmin giving me constant feedback on my exact pace right this second. I felt much more relaxed, and I kept the pace closer to what I’m actually shooting for in the marathon.

I finished the 4.5-mile loop in 35:20, a 7:51/mile average pace.

Based on that, I’ve decided to wear the Timex for the marathon. I’m trying to run 8:00/mile pace. I’ll get to check my current pace at every mile marker — all I have to do is multiply that mile marker by eight. I’m sure there will be a 3:30 pace group to run with anyway. There is no need to freak myself out with the Garmin.

So that’s settled. I feel better.

After the run, I did plenty of stretching and some foam rolling.

The rest of this week is going to suck for running. We’re supposed to get some snow and a lot of rain tomorrow and Thursday. The wind’s coming back too, and is hanging around after the precipitation has left. I’m supposed to run a final tempo run this week, but we’ll see if that happens. It might just all be easy miles from here to Shamrock.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

