A Simple Running Log

January 31, 2013

Training for 1/31/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:03 pm

It’s the last day of January, and the last day before Clark and I head out to California for nine days!

I intended to run this morning, I really did. But I didn’t get to bed until late last night and I had to be at work early this morning, so my motivation to run took a hit. The death blow was the screaming wind that picked up speed overnight. So I just stayed in bed and snuggled with Pepper a little longer.

Since I had to be at work so early and I only have a few hours left this week, I get to leave early too. I think I’ll take Pepper to the trail when I get home. It’s not the 45-minute tempo run the plan called for today, but I don’t feel like fighting this wind, and this will be my last chance to run with Pepper for a while anyway.

I’m going to go ahead and count those three miles in my January summary (so now I have to do them, or this will be a lie.)

Mileage:

  • Week 1 (Jan. 1-5): 27.2 miles
  • Week 2 (Jan. 6-12): 52.2
  • Week 3 (Jan. 13-19): 42.5
  • Week 4 (Jan. 20-26): 56.5
  • Week 5 (Jan. 27-31): 41

Total: 219.4 miles

Pretty spiffy mileage this month, in my opinion.

There wasn’t much else that went on in January. There aren’t many races around here in the winter. As usual, it was all about Shamrock training, which I feel like is on track. All of my long runs this month went well, except the final 1.5 miles of the 19-miler, and the speed workouts I’ve actually completed have been on pace or better. I do have to do a better job in February of getting in my tempo runs though — the past three weeks, including today, I’ve found an excuse to not do it.

The best part is nothing on me hurts! At this point a year ago, I was still pretending my right foot wasn’t bothering me, and a few days into February, I had to admit something was wrong. This year I got through January unscathed. I’m so glad I talked myself into dropping $9 on a new pair of Zeroes.

I only have one race planned for February, the Surf City Half Marathon in a few days. I’d like to run it like a long tempo run (maybe that will make up for a couple of the ones I skipped this month!) The last tempo run I actually completed was a little more than 5.5 miles at a 7:12/mile pace. I think I’ll shoot for 7:20-7:25/mile for 13.1 miles. That would even be a PR by a smidge; the pace of my current PR is 7:26/mile.

The rest of the month is more marathon training. The week we’re in California is supposed to be the second of three peak mileage weeks in this training plan, including a 20-mile long run next weekend. I’m going to try to get in as many miles as I can while we’re out there, because shorts weather, but I’m also going to be flexible, because staying out late, sleeping in and beer. I will probably end up just moving the second 20-miler to the following weekend.

This is my last post until I have to come back to work Feb. 11. We’re flying out of Salisbury very early tomorrow morning. The first three nights, we’re staying with one of my online running friends, who’s also doing Surf City. There’s going to be several more of my online running friends at Surf City, so that’s going to be fun. Sunday I will obviously be cheering for the Ravens in the Super Bowl. I don’t care if it’s 80 degrees, I have to wear my lucky sweatshirt for the game.

Then next week, we’re spending the first couple of days in L.A., going to a couple of live show tapings (well, at least one, and maybe a second one, if we can get in.) Wednesday, we’re driving down toward San Diego, but staying one night in Escondido, just to eat at Stone Brewery’s restaurant. We’ll spend the last couple of days in San Diego, where we’re planning to try some surfing and stand-up paddleboarding. We leave Saturday, but our flight doesn’t get back to Salisbury until late Sunday morning.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

