A Simple Running Log

January 24, 2013

Training for 1/24/13

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:46 pm

This morning, we woke up to the first accumulation of snow of the year. It was just an inch or two, but it pissed me off.

I hate snow. People can’t drive in it, everything around here shuts down because of it, my feet get wet when I walk through it and Pepper refuses to go out and poop in it, instead doing it in the house when we leave him alone. It is a pain in the butt.

It’s been so cold here this week, there was no question it’d stuck to the roads, which Delaware definitely hadn’t treated or plowed, as usual. I knew my 45-minute tempo run was out the window, but I could still get in the 9.5 miles I planned to run.

I got dressed and tied on my trail shoes. A few years ago, when I went through the screw shoe debacle, I didn’t have trail shoes. Since then, I’ve had a pair every winter, and I’ve found they get pretty good traction in snow. And since they were made for it, they don’t tweak my stride and cause tendon problems.

I stepped out the side door, ready for the most annoying 9.5 miles of the year.

I walked through the undisturbed blanket of snow down our lane and out to the road. Directly ahead of me was an empty field, covered in the same blanket of snow. Across the field was a farm, all the buildings covered in snow too. The red barns and a few outdoor lights stood out against the white ground and the lightening gray sky.

When I got out to the road, I could see the first rays of light from the sun to the east, lending a pink tint to the sky where they were breaking through the clouds. A plume of smoke was curling out of one of the neighbors’ chimney.

What I’m trying to say here is that the whole scene was actually kinda pretty.

My mood lifted a bit, and I took off running. An inch or two of fresh snow isn’t that hard to run through, really. My trail shoes were getting plenty of grip.

I ran an untimed lap around the 9.5-mile loop. It turned out to be a really good run. I didn’t get in the speed work I was supposed to do today, but that’s not that big a deal. There are plenty more workouts and a lot of miles left between now and Shamrock.

I’m hoping we don’t get too much more snow though. While it was pretty today, my patience for it will run out very quickly. We’re supposed to get another 4 to 6 inches tomorrow afternoon or evening, but the weekend should finally get above freezing for the first time since last Sunday, so maybe it will go away soon. I can tolerate Saturday’s 10-miler in trail shoes again, but I hope Sunday’s 20-miler can be run in my regular road shoes.

And of course, I can’t forget, California is one week from tomorrow!

2 Comments »

  1. Totally unrelated to your post, but I just read your comment on my family history post. Good catch on that not being the right card!! I hadn’t even noticed the race category šŸ™‚

    Comment by Laura A — January 25, 2013 @ 3:13 am | Reply

    • Lol! I love old documents like that because of how not “politically correct” so much of it is, especially when it came to race, so that stuck out to me!

      Comment by aschmid3 — January 25, 2013 @ 5:36 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

