A Simple Running Log

December 18, 2012

Training for 12/18/12

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:39 pm

This morning, I had a speed workout on the schedule, five 800-meter repeats.

For the third consecutive time now, I skipped driving to the track to do them, and instead just ran timed intervals on the road, since I don’t wear a GPS watch to measure out 800 meters at a time for me.

It was just starting to get light out when I hit the road. It was a pretty mild morning for December, a little on the foggy side, but nothing to complain about.

I planned on my 5.5-mile loop. I ran the first mile easy, and then started my first interval. I was aiming for 7:00/mile pace, so, since 800 meters is about a half-mile, I just ran hard for 3:30.

If I had been at the track, I’d have done one lap, or 400 meters, of recovery between each repeat, so today I ran easy for 2:15, which would be about 9:00/mile pace, between each.

It went pretty well overall. I did all five repeats with recoveries, and then had a little less than a mile left to run home at an easy pace.

I finished 5.5 miles in a total of 42:20, a 7:42/mile overall average pace.

I had to run today’s speed workout in my 890s for the first time. It felt weird trying to run fast in such “clunky” shoes, compared to what I normally wear for speed workouts. I wore them all weekend too, since the worn out Zeroes bothered my calf so bad last Thursday.

The new Zeroes should be here today. I’ll probably again wear the 890s for my easy run tomorrow, but then the Zeroes will make their debut for my tempo run Thursday. I’m very excited about them!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

