A Simple Running Log

December 7, 2012

Training for 12/7/12

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:49 pm

This is my last post before the Rehoboth Half Marathon tomorrow!

I cannot wait to get out of work today. The car is packed and I’m heading straight to the beach. I’m going to packet pick-up first to get my race bib and T-shirt. The shirts are Brooks technical Nightlife long-sleeved shirts. There are a limited number of women’s cut shirts, so I want to get there in time to snag one. But the men’s cut Brooks shirts aren’t terrible, so even if I don’t make it, it won’t be a tragedy.

Then I need to stop by the Bose outlet to look at a pair of sport earbuds that cost as much as the iPod I want for Christmas. Clark wants to get me those too, to go along with the iPod, but I thought that was a lot of money to spend on earbuds I’m just going to sweat all over, especially when the ones that come with the iPod sound perfectly fine to me. Clark seems to think I might change my mind if I try them out though, so I will.

I also still have a $15 gift certificate I won in a 5K in July, for the New Balance store in Rehoboth, that expires at the end of this month, and since I’m not positive I’ll be in Rehoboth again before that, I better go burn it.

Hopefully everyone else will be in Rehoboth by then, and I’ll go to the beach house where we’re staying. It’s owned by one of the other runners’ parents, and they are very graciously allowing their daughter to invite four other strange women to stay with her there all weekend.

The house is only a few minutes from the race site, so the location couldn’t be better.

Tonight, we’re staying in, making a big pot of spaghetti, watching funny movies and making our own shirts. One of the other women is a graphic designer and came up with a logo for our “Rehoboth Beach Seashore Marathon and Half Marathon Lady Loopfest and Jen’s PR Fun Run” and printed it on heat transfer paper, so we’re ironing it onto white T-shirts tonight.

We’ll probably wear the Loopfest shirts out tomorrow night, along with the light-up tiaras one of the other women bought for all of us at Target, haha. We’re definitely hitting up Dogfish Head, and then we’ll probably go down the street to the Purple Parrot for karaoke. So what if we look like a bachelorette party without a bride-to-be?

I’m getting ahead of myself though. There’s still a race to run tomorrow morning.

It starts at 7 a.m. The weather is looking pretty decent. There’s a slight chance of a shower or two in the morning, but most of what’s raining off and on today should be out of the area. Winds are only supposed to be 5 to 10 mph, much more agreeable than the day we ran the 5K there a couple of weeks ago. It’ll be around 50 degrees at race time, and is supposed to get up to the mid-60s by the afternoon. Of course, I’ll be done sometime between 8:30 and 9 a.m., so I won’t be running when it gets warm.

I’m definitely wearing shorts, but I’m torn on the top. I packed a light long-sleeved top and a short-sleeved one, as well as arm warmers, and a pair of throwaway gloves. And I have a baseball hat, in case it does rain.

And now, the most important part of my pre-race post: Goals.

My tippy top, everything-is-perfect-and-I’m-just-ON-FIRE goal is to break 1:35. That’s a 7:15/mile pace. Only a few seconds per mile faster than the solo 60-minute tempo run I did last week, but I can’t forget there’s also five more miles to run at that pace than I ran in the tempo run.

My B goal is to beat my PR, 1:37:32, in which case I’d have to run faster than 7:26/mile.

There is no C goal. I’m not going to get upset if I don’t PR tomorrow, but I’ll be surprised. Unless I have another round of digestive distress, of course.

I feel like that’s about the only thing that could derail me. I feel great otherwise. No aches or pains, and I’m itching to run!

Jen is the only one in our little group running the full. She’s going for a PR, hoping to break 4:30. (Hence the “Jen’s PR Fun Run” in the graphic.) The rest of us have agreed to go back on the course after we finish the half and run her in to her marathon PR.

Then we’ll hit up the post-race party. I remember this race’s after party very well from the only other time I ran it, three years ago. Unlimited 16 Mile beer on tap. Free massages, and lines short enough you can actually get one. Tons of food, both breakfast and lunch stuff.

We’ll rest up in the afternoon, and then it’s time to party. The fact this race is on Saturday morning is a big plus! Just about everyone else in our group is coming in from way out of town, so we can party it up Saturday night instead of Sunday night, and then everyone can get home without having to take off work Monday.

Sunday, the only thing I have planned is taking Pepper to Petsmart in Easton to get his annual photo with Santa Paws.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

