A Simple Running Log

November 30, 2012

Training for 11/30/12

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:00 pm

This morning was my last run of November, an easy 3-miler on the trail with Pepper.

It was another cold, frosty morning, and it was foggy on top of it, so I was glad we were going to the trail instead of running on the road.

The first mile or so was slow. Besides sniffing and peeing on things, Pepper also likes to creep forward along the trail, ears pricked up, staring intently into the distance, like we’re in a horror movie and he can see the bad guy waiting for us up ahead. I don’t know why he does it but he does, and it drives me nuts. There has never been so much as a squirrel waiting to jump us.

Finally, he found a stick to run with, forgot about all the imaginary creepers and took the hell off. The rest of the run was a lot faster than an easy run should be.

When we got home, I gave him a couple of treats, and then I did today’s push-ups workout and some stretching.

I’m not running a race this weekend, for the first time in three weeks. It feels kinda nice not to have to get up at a certain time either day this weekend.

Tomorrow, I have my final long run before Rehoboth, one last lap around the 14.5-mile route. Sunday, I’m just supposed to do a 3-miler.

I’m not sure what’s going on the rest of the weekend. I put up all the indoor Christmas decorations last weekend, so I need to get the outdoor ones up too. I’d also like to get the live tree we set up in the front window. And Sunday, the Ravens play the Steelers for the second time in three weeks.

Since it’s the last day of the month, it’s time for the summary:

Mileage:

  • Week 1 (Nov. 1-3): 18 miles
  • Week 2 (Nov. 4-10): 48.7
  • Week 3 (Nov. 11-17): 23.1
  • Week 4 (Nov. 18-24): 51.5
  • Week 5 (Nov. 25-30): 41.2

Total: 182.5 miles

Another solid mileage month. The first and third weeks were low as I tapered for and then recovered from my first ultra, the 50K I ran Nov. 10. Then I switched gears and did a couple of 5Ks the last two weekends of the month, including the one last weekend where I finally dipped back under 21 minutes for the first time this year.

Right now I’ve only written out my training plan for December up until the Rehoboth Beach Half Marathon next Saturday. When that race is over, I’ll be in training for another crack at sub-3:30 at the Shamrock Marathon in March.

Last year, I didn’t race at all between December and the Shamrock Marathon, but this year, we’re going out to California in early February, and Clark and I are both running the Surf City Half Marathon on Feb. 3. I’m really looking forward to that one too.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

