A Simple Running Log

November 6, 2012

Training for 11/6/12

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 8:46 pm

I’m very late updating this today because I’ve been out all day doing my patriotic duty. I voted in Delaware first, and then drove all over Caroline County visiting polling places, interviewing people and taking pictures for the paper. Everyone seems so jazzed about the election this year. I kinda like it. It’s a more interesting story than the usual “voter turnout was disappointingly low again…” story.

Plus, unless we get another hanging-chad situation, all this election crap will be officially over tonight. Thank God. I’ve heard enough!

As much as I prefer living in Delaware over Maryland, I was disappointed I had to steal an “I Voted” sticker from a Maryland polling place. That’s what we get for having no sales tax and rock-bottom property taxes in Delaware though — no money to buy election stickers. It’s a trade-off.

I only had a 3-miler on the schedule today. We got the first frost of the season last night, so I had to wear long tights, a mock neck top, an earband and gloves, and put Pepper in his dork jacket and harness for it. That’s an awful lot of work for a run that lasts only 22 minutes when you have Pepper with you. He was practically sprinting after we turned around and he knew we were going home.

I’ll be pretty happy to get today over with. Last night, I went to a town meeting, expecting it to last 90 minutes tops. But about 50 people showed up to complain about water and sewer bills for two and a half hours, which was after the hour it took to finish the rest of the business on the agenda, so I didn’t get home until almost 10 p.m.

Then I had Election Day!!!!11! all day today, and tonight I have to cover the Board of Education meeting, so there’s a very real chance I won’t get home until that late again tonight.

This is about the only time when I’m glad they switched us to hourly workers and made us start tracking our hours. I should only have to work a couple of hours Friday, since I’m not allowed overtime, which will be nice.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

