A Simple Running Log

October 17, 2012

Training for 10/17/12

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:22 pm

Man, today’s run was tough!

I had a 10-miler on the schedule. I had to get on the road well before the stupid sun came up to get it done before work.

It was a lot colder today than yesterday. I wore capris, a long-sleeved tech shirt, a Dayglo yellow short-sleeved T-shirt and gloves, and I had my headlamp. No way I was getting run over today.

Or so I thought. The driver of the first truck that met me on the road seemed to not notice me at all, and was hugging the very edge of the road, so that I had to step off the road into the grass to avoid getting hit. This is why we run against traffic.

All the drivers on the rest of the run gave me plenty of space, but my legs just weren’t that thrilled with 10 miles today. I ran the whole thing, but the last few miles in particular were a bit of a struggle to keep running.

I was cold just about the whole run too, especially my hands. I feel like I’m turning into Pepper. I have a roughly 5-degree range of acceptable temperatures. Otherwise I’m too hot or too cold, though I absolutely prefer excessive heat.

I finished off the 10.5-mile loop. At home, I immediately got out of my cold, damp running clothes and into dry clothes, and then I made myself a cup of coffee to go with my cereal. The cold air had also given me a headache, but that went away as I warmed up.

This does not bode well for the next several months of running! It’s only the middle of October and I’m already complaining.

Yesterday, Clark issued quite the challenge to both himself and me. He wants to run a 1:30 half marathon… in February. And he wants me to set up the training plan that will get him there!

While I’m positive he could run a half marathon in February, and he could definitely run a 1:30 some day, I’m worried he’s either going to injure himself or completely burn out if he trains to run his first half marathon with a goal time like that.

But if there’s one thing I’ve learned about Clark in the more than eight years we’ve been together, it’s that he’s extremely stubborn once he gets an idea in his head. I can’t talk him out of this, so I told him to start building a base of easy miles to gain endurance for the next month, and then in November, he can start a 12-week training plan with regular speed work, so he can run the 6:52 miles it takes to run 13.1 miles in 1:30.

He kicked it off last night with an easy run, somewhere between 3.5 and 4 miles, in the dark, wearing all black. I couldn’t convince him to at least carry my headlamp in his hand if he felt too dorky wearing it. So if he doesn’t injure himself in the next four months, he’s probably going to get hit by a car.

His goal race is the Surf City Half Marathon in Huntington Beach, Calif., on Feb. 3. He wanted to go back out to Southern California sometime this coming winter anyway, and several Loopsters are running that one, so the date works. There’s also a full marathon that day, but I’ll be training for Shamrock at that point, so the half would be a nice tune-up race for me.¬†Neither of us are actually registered for the race yet, however, and it looks like it’s getting close to sold out already, so some commitments have to made soon if this is going to happen.

We’ll see how this experiment goes. Wish us both luck!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

