A Simple Running Log

October 11, 2012

Training for 10/11/12

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:02 pm

Last night, I did some strength training, as planned — ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting, weights and stretching.

This morning, I took Pepper out for a trip around the ol’ 4.5-mile loop. He was really in a mood to run fast today. I didn’t time it, but out of curiosity, I checked my watch at the 3.5-mile mark and the end of the route. We started the final mile at 7:35 a.m. and finished it at 7:42 a.m., so we were running around 7:00 miles.

I didn’t try too hard to slow him down though. I was just happy he wasn’t acting like a giant weirdo for once. Since I got home from Minnesota, he’s been doing some strange things. The dog who used to inhale his food now refuses to eat unless I stand there and watch him. And last night, when I went to bed, he burrowed under the covers, head and all, and stayed there all night, curled up against me. This morning, when I woke up, he was in a ball down by my feet, still under the covers, not moving at all. For a couple of awful seconds, I thought he’d suffocated himself, but he woke up when I yanked away the covers.

It wasn’t any colder than usual in the house last night or anything, so I don’t know what his problem is. Maybe he just misses Clark.

I have a few pictures from the race Sunday to post. The professional photographers on the course didn’t get any particularly good shots:

Checking my watch while crossing over the halfway timing mat.

Finishing the race, with some guy’s hand completely blocking my entire head.

A wider shot of the finish line; you can see my yellow shorts in the bottom right corner.

And that was it from the professional photographers.

However, JB was out there taking pictures too, and he managed to get one of me actually running around mile 23:

Surprisingly, my legs aren’t blue, like I expected. I like how I can see the outline of my precious ChapStick at the bottom of my back shirt hem, where it was in the key pocket of the shorts.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

