A Simple Running Log

May 27, 2010

Training for 5/27/10

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:06 pm

Oh God, the humidity. Kill me now.

Alright, that was a little dramatic, but missing the whole transitional weather period between February and late spring was not a good thing. The last time I ran 5.5 miles, it was about 20 degrees out. Today, it was about 55 degrees warmer with nearly 100 percent humidity.

I slogged through a set of speed intervals over the first 1.75 miles or so, walked a couple of minutes to get my heartrate back under control, and then spent the next 3.75 miles plodding along and arguing with myself over whether or not I could possibly run another step.

I always forget what an absolute killer humidity is. It feels like you’re trying to breathe through a wet blanket. Everything takes so much more effort.

But, chocolate milk and a cold shower feel that much better after you push yourself through the misery. It definitely felt well-earned today.

And hey, it’s not even June yet, so I have plenty of time to get reacclimated to soggy, hot Delaware summer weather.

Anyway, I ran that loop because it’s probably the last time I’ll run before the 5-mile race Sunday morning, unless I decide to do a couple miles on the trail tomorrow evening. I’m donating blood this afternoon and I have an early work assignment tomorrow anyway, so there will be no workout in the morning. And Saturday will be a rest day in anticipation of the race.

And, I just had to add, I have a total of six Band-Aids on my feet right now. I tried to look nice for graduation last night, so I wore these wedge sandals to work. I was not expecting to have to walk two miles over a partially unpaved road so I could cover a “house fire” that was nothing more than a smoking fuse box. Apparently some pieces of dirt worked their way in and tore up my poor feet. I don’t think the run this morning helped things, but the Band-Aids are making it possible to wear shoes. OK, flip-flops.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.